Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!

Mike Lowery


Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!

Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!

  • Title: Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!
  • Author: Mike Lowery
  • ISBN: 9780761187196
  • Page: 145
  • Format: Hardcover



Draw your way through the story Doodle Adventures The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs is a lighthearted fantasy where the reader first draws him or herself into the story, and then continues by following prompts and adding illustrations and doodles Set in space, the book invites the reader to join Carl, a duck and member of a super secret international group of eDraw your way through the story Doodle Adventures The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs is a lighthearted fantasy where the reader first draws him or herself into the story, and then continues by following prompts and adding illustrations and doodles Set in space, the book invites the reader to join Carl, a duck and member of a super secret international group of explorers, on a journey in search of a very important grail like object The book is sturdy paper over board with beautiful cream paper perfect for defacing And by the end, the reader will have co written a tale to return to again and again, and show off to family and friends.


Recent Comments "Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!"

One of my favorite reads this 2016 so far is the Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs! by Mike Lowery. It was more than just a children's book. It's one's own handiwork. As soon as I opened it and turned to page 1, I knew I will be completely hooked. And I was. I love how it was super interactive that I am excited to see more, find more and draw some more. It was adorable enough that I would buy one myself as soon as it's published and even give some of my friends a copy.Perso [...]

The first book in this series is The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs. In this book we learn a lot about the organization that you "the main character" is newly working for. You also get introduced to Carl the duck. Carl is not only your companion and guide through your adventure, but he is also the narrator.In this adventure you get sent off to space to find the slimy space slugs that stole something important from head quarters. You, with the help of Carl, have to get it back!The SeriesNow tha [...]

I received a digital copy of this title from the publisher via Netgalley.Top Book of 2016 Pick!Ten Second Synopsis:You are the hero of the story and must save the day by drawing in the events! his book is pure, unadulterated FUN from the first page to the last. If you were a child who was always being roused at for doodling in books, then this tome will be a balm for your very soul. The idea behind this series of books - yes, a whole series! - is for the reader to co-create the story by adding t [...]

As soon as you open this book you'll discover you are not just a simple reader. You are actually the new recruit to go on a space mission with Carl the duck. So go grab a pencil because you'll have some doddle to do here. You'll need to do some paperwork, like fill a form and sign the Terms and Conditions of this book. This is an important mission. You are headed to the K-82 planet, the slugs planet, in order recover a jar with a secret content that was stolen by Sleezoog, the slimy ruler of the [...]

'Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs!' by Mike Lowery is an interactive adventure starring the reader. It's pretty clever and I would have loved something like this when I was younger.You are the new recruit of the Doodle Agency and you've been approached by Carl the Duck who is your guide. You are tasked with defeating the giant space slugs. You will do this through doodling in the book. Carl will guide you with what to draw, from the luggage you need to the spaceship you wi [...]

This will be a fun, but challenging book to share in a classroom. I'll see what the class decides to do so anyone and everyone who reads it can have a chance to complete the story with doodling.

I read this after my 9-year-old completed the illustrations. Fun book, excellent concept. We look forward the the other books in this series.

Full review will be up on middle grade minded blog on June 26th

Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs! by Mike Lowery was an interactive read for middle grade readers. It is currently scheduled for release on May 17 2016.This is the first book in a lighthearted fantasy stories where the reader first draws him- or herself into the story, and then continues by following prompts and adding more illustrations and doodles. Set in space, the book invites the reader to join Carl, a duck and member of a super-secret international group of explorers [...]

3.5 stars. I received this book from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.I would have rated this higher, but sorry, this is a doodle your own adventure, and that just doesn’t work if it is an e-ARC. You can’t do anything to participate with the drawings. Using your imagination is fun, but it kind of sucks, I wanted to draw, but couldn’t. I think this book works best as a physical ARC, that way people can enjoy all the aspects of the book, and not just the story or the art.Because the [...]

I was given a copy of this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This is a brilliant idea for a kids book and a great way for kids to not only get involved with the story but to show their own creativity and make it their own.The book has a great plot, that is funny and engaging, proving plenty of opportunities for kids to make choices and draw those choices into the book. My eight-year-old son would absolutely love this book and it is definitely one I will be purchasing [...]

Review with teaching tools at: unleashingreaders/?p=1I cannot wait to see this book completed by students. I think so many kids of all sorts of ages will enjoy this book. It is silly enough for young elementary students, and its plot is interesting enough for middle school students. I love the narrator, Carl, who is a puny and out spoken duck who takes the reader on a journey to the Slug Planet (in 2nd person point of view!). The illustrations are also so well done for what the book is trying to [...]

Review by MooShine Art Spot:The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs! By Mike Lowery captured my interest and tempted my love doodling immediately. The book is for middle grade readers to actually draw themselves into the story. The prompts were an incredible way to get kids started on what to draw to put their own special creative thinking to work to make the story a part of themselves. This book would be great for kids that do not necessarily love to read because it literally brings them into the [...]

I have shared this book with my Grandson, age 11,who comes to stay with me about 1 day a week or more, during the Summer months. I had the idea that we both would read this and draw the story. When we get finished,we will have a book that he and I shared and both of us worked on, kind of a treasure for us to keep forever! I loosely draw the picture,then he adds what he wants to it,then I add to it again and the sillier the better! We both end up laughing,sharing,and enjoying our time together! I [...]

Readers costar and save the day with Carl the Duck, drawing extensively in the book to provide the heroic solutions to recapture a top secret jar that was stolen from a top secret society. Carl is as goofy as can be, and the action is suitably ridiculous. Most pages offer the reader a place to doodle solutions or scenery, making this a one-time-use novelty. The good news: there's so much drawing to be done that it might take invested readers quite a while to complete the mission to their satisfa [...]

I received an advance copy of this book to provide an honest review.Obsessed with this book! I love the illustrations, the narrative is just right for not only the age group of my students, (third grade), but this book would also be great for grades 2-6. I love the prompts that are given for what to draw. My reluctant readers are going to want to get their hands on this also, and I'm thrilled to come across a title that will get everyone excited! I can't wait for it to come out, because I know i [...]

E ARC from NetgalleyCarl the Duck enlists YOU (the reader) to help him find a precious artifact that was stolen, and gets embroiled in an altercation with the eponymous Space Slug.I didn't quite realize that this book instructs children to draw in it in order to complete the story. This makes it a poor choice for a school or public library, although it would be quite fun for a present for a 2nd or 3rd grader who likes to draw. The art is fun, and the story is silly. It's a great notebook novel, [...]

Cute, light, entertaining book for young readers. The reader(and illustrator!) joins the mission to retrieve stolen goods from a nearby planet and deal with all the slugs and slime along the way. As you move along in the book, you are asked to fill in various missing doodles from the story, making this a fun book for youngsters to own, but less suited to a library. Not high-brow entertainment, but a terrific hook for reluctant and/or beginning readers who need a bit more (or less?) than a straig [...]

A great book for readers, artists, and fans of graphic novels. Readers are guided to draw in the book to help the story move along. I would not purchase for my library because the drawing in the book is really an essential part of the story and experience. I love the statement on the back of the book that says, "by the end, the reader will have cowritten a tale to return to again and again and show off to family and friends." I can think of many students who would love this book.

This was a really fun book. Its an excellent way to get children involved, for me this is more aimed towards boys, but I think some girls will like it too. The only downside for me would be that once its drawn on, you really wouldn't be using it that many more times as you have completed the story. Its very entertaining though, good to learn and for younger children 6-8 years to get involved. The story is fun and entertaining too.

Every student I know (and some adults, too) will LOVE this book! Even reluctant readers will be compelled to read on and doodle more.I received a free electronic copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

My seven-year-old grandson loves this book. The story is fun and interactive. The drawing suggestions are inspirational and guide him to use his imagination. The quality of the book itself is super. I highly recommend it for grade-schoolers.

Charming, and so much fun. As a kid, I would have loved this. Reading & drawing in one place? It's an Estelle dream.

It was funny because the top secret thing was peanut butter! you should buy and create your own adventure today or tomorrow or any other day,Bah! Its your choice! Launch yourself to your imagination

Bought this for my nephew but couldn't resist reading it first. At least I didn't fill in the doodles. I think he will love it.

A fun book to engage readers as they add their own artwork to the story!

Great for a personal collection, not so much for a circulating library with multiple users.

A goofy interactive book perfect for fans of Captain Underpants. Use your drawing skills to partake in this adventure against the slimy space slugs!

A thoughtful and fun story and "activity book" all in one!


  • ☆ Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs! || ✓ PDF Read by ↠ Mike Lowery
    145 Mike Lowery
  • thumbnail Title: ☆ Doodle Adventures: The Search for the Slimy Space Slugs! || ✓ PDF Read by ↠ Mike Lowery
    Posted by:Mike Lowery
    Published :2018-08-18T08:09:18+00:00